First Year Anniversary for Secular Patriarchy!

Well, this is the one year anniversary of the launching of my site Secular Patriarchy. It has been a very eventful year for me both politically and personally. I was expecting and hoping for advancement of myself politically, that being the whole point of this Secular Patriarchy site in the first place. My advancement personally (romantically) however is a complete and wonderful surprise. I have discovered that I am “in demand” as a traditional man, more so than I thought, and that the world of women is available to me for the first time in a long long while. This does place demands on me, namely the need to increase my earnings power high enough to support a family, but to know that women (desirable traditional women) are available to me after I have achieved sufficient status and success (read money making power) as a man is a wonderful revelation. Honestly, it was not something I expected when launching this site.

Politically I am rather pleased with my first year of independent blogging. Before launching this site I had been active politically in the gender politics sphere of the internet for several years but I was always at somebody else’s site adding to the discussion. This site here is my first independent blog that is actually mine and is “all me” as far as the content and personality of the site. I was at The Thinking Housewife for a long time but thought it was important to branch out and “do my own thing.” My discovery of the TWRAs (Traditional Women’s Rights Activists) was what instigated me finally separating from The Thinking Housewife after 3 years there. The TWRAs were quite exciting because they were supporting patriarchy from a secular point of view without white supremacist stuff in the background. I definitely wanted in with this new group of the TWRAs. I formally joined the TWRAs on January 27, 2013 (and formally quit on October 30, 2013).

In the middle of my time with the TWRAs I decided I should take the leap and plant my own flag on the internet with my own website, this website here. Such being the origins of this website.

My purpose here is basically to promote patriarchy from a secular point of view as an independent cultural phenomenon. Patriarchy within religion is very big but not everyone feels comfortable with religion and many people see the “God” part of religion as being a barrier to accepting what religion teaches. There is also a pretty big group of people who are secular and also support patriarchy but are part of the white supremacist sub-culture. I am trying to promote patriarchy outside of religion and also outside of white supremacy simply because patriarchy is good and desirable in its own right. I definitely support religion and consciously try to imitate religion in many ways because the religious understanding of morality and truth is actually quite brilliant. Still, I am an atheist so my particular role should be to promote an understanding of patriarchy from the secular point of view.

I would characterize myself as a traditionalist as the broader category me and my blog are a part of. Even though my group the Traditional Family Activists still has only one member, me, I think it is fair to say that a blog cluster is developing that I am a part of. This traditionalist blog cluster consists of the following blogs at the moment:

Secular Patriarchy
What’s Wrong With Equal Rights
Adventures in Keeping House
Home Living

This blog cluster is characterized by support for patriarchy, not being a “men’s rights” site, emphasizing the duty of men to financially support their wives, not having a racial agenda, and having a secular style of presentation (though certainly a blog can be Christian and have a secular style of presentation at the same time).

One of the most remarkable things I find about my situation is that I am surrounded by women and very few men. There is definitely a man shortage in the traditionalist sphere; there seems to be a lot more women around than men in my part of the internet. This is a message to the guys out there; there are a lot of women who want you once you are ready to step up to the plate and fulfill your duties and obligations as a man.

This blog has racked up 34,000 views in its first year of operation; a number I am quite pleased with. I estimate that a cultural message has to be repeated or reinforced 5,000 times before someone is converted or convinced to a new point of view. Think about how many times a day the feminist message is taught to you or told to you from one source or another in your environment. You probably heard the feminist message 5,000 times in your life before believing it or internalizing it. So I figure with 34,000 views I have probably converted 7 people to patriarchy in the past year with this blog. That is an awfully good score card after only one year.

In the wider culture there are also some good social indicators going on. The out-of-wedlock birth ratio in the United States stood at 40.6% in 2013; down from 41.0% in 2009. This is the first time since 1950 there has been a drop in the out-of-wedlock birth ratio over a 4 year period. Another piece of good news; the proportion of white married women working dropped from 61.3% in 2010 to 59.1% in 2012. In 1990 the ratio was at 57.7%; in 2000 it was at 61.4%; in 2010 it was at 61.3%; and then in 2012 it was at 59.1%. Perhaps this social indicator is actually in decline right now after plateauing from 2000 to 2010. Women in general working in the 25 to 54 age group peaked in April 2000 at 77.3% and stood at 73.9% in June 2014. Women working increased continually from 1870 to 2000.

How I see things this blog and the blog cluster I am a part of are just part of the wider story of the return of patriarchy, a movement so vast and powerful it is even showing up in society wide social statistics now.

So, the past year has been good to me. May the year ahead be even better for me both personally and politically!

About Jesse Powell TFA

Anti-Feminist, MRA, Pro-Traditional Women's Rights Traditional Family Activist (TFA)
This entry was posted in Gender Politics Analysis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Year Anniversary for Secular Patriarchy!

  1. bodycrimes says:

    Congratulations! I don’t agree with a thing you say! But you’re a good and polite debater and the more voices added to the mix, the better. It’s also good to hear about your personal successes in the real world – it’s so nice to hear from a man in this space who is positive, not bitter.

  2. Pingback: Second Year Anniversary for Secular Patriarchy! | Secular Patriarchy

  3. Pingback: Third Year Anniversary for Secular Patriarchy! | Secular Patriarchy

Leave a Reply

